

Illinois Police Officers' Pension Investment Fund Election Committee Meeting Minutes Friday, October 18, 2024, at 1:00 P.M.

A regular meeting of the Election Committee of the Illinois Police Officers' Pension Investment Fund was conducted at the Pere Marquette Hotel, 501 Main Street, Peoria, IL. 61602. Members of the public were invited to participate remotely or in person.

Attendees (4)

Election Committee Members:

- Daniel Hopkins, Chairperson
- Lee Catavu
- Brad Cole
- Phil Suess

IPOPIF Staff:

- Richard White, Executive Director
- Kent Custer, Chief Investment Officer
- Regina Tuczak, Chief Financial Officer/ Assistant Executive Director
- Amy Zick, Senior Accountant
- Kate Cobb, Administrative Analyst
- Samantha Lambert, Administrative Analyst

Joe Miller, Information Technologist

Others present:

- Taylor Muzzy, Fiduciary Legal Counsel, Jacobs Bums Orlove & Hernandez, LLP
- Rick Reimer, General Legal Counsel, Reimer, Dobrovolny & Labardi PC
- Members of the Public (Zoom)

Agenda

All members of the Election Committee, staff, legal counsel, and the public were provided with a copy of the agenda. The agenda was also posted on the IPOPIF website, office door, and door of the meeting room.

Call to order:

The meeting was called to order at 1:25 P.M. by Chairperson Hopkins.

Roll Call

A roll call was conducted. 3 Trustees were present, and 1 Trustee absent. A quorum was established with the 3 required number of Trustees present.

Election Committee:

- Daniel Hopkins, Chairperson
- Lee Catavu
- Phil Suess

Election Committee Members Absent:

Brad Cole

All individuals present are reflected in the list of attendees.

Election Committee Minutes

<u>3.0: Election Committee Minutes - Discussion and Potential Action:</u> The Election Committee minutes were reviewed from May 17, 2024, and discussed by the members of the Committee. Executive Director White answered all questions.

A motion was made by Trustee Suess and seconded by Trustee Catavu to approve the Election Committee meeting minutes from May 17, 2024, as presented.

Motion was carried by a roll call vote.

Ayes: Trustees Hopkins, Catavu, and Suess

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Absent: Trustee Cole

Trustee Election

4.1- Election Policy Review: Discussion and Potential Action:

The Board of Trustees approved the revised Election Policy and authorized the 2024 Board of Trustee election, at the June 14, 2024, meeting, which was concluded by the Board of Trustees with the certification of results at the September 13, 2024, meeting.

The process followed was compliant with the Election Policy and did not identify any issues for future review or revisions. It is recommended that the Election Policy be revised to include the process for the appointment of trustees, which was permitted in a recent revision to the Pension Code and may be needed for future vacancies on the Board of Trustees.

The elected trustees serve 4-year terms of office with the election on a two-year staggered election cycle. The elected trustees will be seated in January 2025 and serve through December 2028.

- Municipal Member Trustee
 - Trustee Seat #2: Trustee Debra Nawrocki

-Trustee Seat #3: Trustee Michael Inman

• Active Member Trustee

-Trustee Seat #6: Trustee Scott Bowers

Beneficiary Member Trustee

-Trustee Seat #8: Trustee Mark Poulos

Trustee Seat #9 is the seat appointed by the Governor as recommended by the Illinois Municipal League and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The appointment for the next term of office has not been made at this time. The appointment is for a two-year term of office and will run from January 2025 through December 2026.

The elected Board of Trustees will have an Oath of Office administered and will be seated at the January 24, 2025, meeting.

Executive Director White answered all questions.

Public Comment

An opportunity for public comment was provided at 1:30 P.M. No comments were heard, and no discussion was provided.

Adjournment

A motion was made by Trustee Suess and Trustee Catavu to adjourn the Election Committee meeting at 1:30 P.M.

Motion was carried by a voice/roll call vote.

Ayes: Trustees Hopkins, Catavu, and Suess

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Absent: Trustee Cole

Respectfully submitted by:

Kate Cobb, Administrative Analyst

Approved by:

Daniel Hopkins, Chairperson, Election Committee

Date Approved by the Election Committee: April 11, 2025